The SAOCA Forum  

Go Back   The SAOCA Forum > Non Alpine Related Topics > Sunbeam Tiger
FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-07-2017
Paul A Paul A is offline
SAOCA Vice President
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mitchell, SD
Posts: 910
Default Lockheed 5" servo

I just finished installing a new Lockheed 5" servo in my '66 Tiger. It works well and installation was not difficult. More information to follow. Pete
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Lockheed servo 4.jpg (19.3 KB, 58 views)
File Type: jpg Lockheed servo 3.jpg (25.8 KB, 53 views)
File Type: jpg Lockheed servo 5.jpg (22.8 KB, 52 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-09-2017
DanR's Avatar
DanR DanR is offline
SAOCA Treasurer
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Greenwood, sc
Posts: 3,009
Default

Awaiting more info....

Just kidding of course. But, I have seen a very small booster on a Tiger back last year during a British Car Show in Norcross, Ga. Thought my camera took a good PIC but when I got home it was blurry from the bright sunshine.

It seemed to be an ideal size.

DanR

P.S. I thing it was a Red Tiger. And there are no doubt a-lot-a-red-ones
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-10-2017
Paul A Paul A is offline
SAOCA Vice President
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mitchell, SD
Posts: 910
Default

updated info regarding the new Lockheed brake servo: See the attached document:

When I received the Spring sale catalog from Victoria British I noticed they had a Lockheed 5” booster kit for sale for $94.95. The kit includes the servo, new input and output brake lines, non-return valve, mounting brackets and various other items. Given the reality of costs to rebuild or repair Girling servos is much greater than $100 – assuming you can locate a unit to rebuild – I decided to purchase the Lockheed unit and install it in my Tiger.
I wanted to locate the unit in the same area as was used by the original Girling unit. There was really only one way to position the servo that would permit clearance between it and the bonnet and that was to use a position similar to the original.

With location determined I needed to find a suitable way to mount it in position. It occurred to me that I could make use of the inner fender brace to hold the servo if I could find a suitable bracket. A trip to the Carquest Auto Parts store soon solved that issue. I bought two insulated cable clamps that open to about 1.25”.

The new servo unit has two mounting studs on the front of it. By using the fender brace as a mounting point I was able to securely fasten the front of the servo using the two servo studs and two cable clamps.

Also included in the kit was a bracket that fits around the “long” end of the servo. I shortened the bracket, bent and formed it to fit and drilled a 5/16” hole in it. Using one of the existing Tiger bracket mounts I was able to bolt the reconfigured bracket to the car. With the two clamps on the front of the servo and the bracket on the rear the servo is secure.
The kit included a new vacuum hose and also a non-return valve. I installed a new vacuum hose connector on the rear of the carburetor. I cut the new vacuum hose and installed the non-return valve in-line between the carburetor and the servo. I attached the vacuum hose to the servo, installed new hose clamps and had a leak free vacuum connection between the carburetor and the servo. With everything secure, clamped and in place I started the engine, put the car in gear and tested the brakes. Everything works. For under $100 I now have power brakes on my ’66 Mark 1A Tiger.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0332.jpg (75.9 KB, 43 views)
File Type: jpg servo resized 1.jpg (56.5 KB, 58 views)
File Type: jpg servo resized.jpg (81.7 KB, 48 views)
File Type: jpg servo resized 2.jpg (50.6 KB, 49 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-17-2017
1fineAlpine's Avatar
1fineAlpine 1fineAlpine is offline
Gold Level Sponsor
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Priest River, Idaho
Posts: 94
Default Good info

That's good to know. I've been planning to run without a booster because of the prices, but I really wanted to have something. I think I'll give this a shot as well.

Thanks for the write up!
__________________
B9400226, built Ford 302 swap and restoration in progress.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-17-2017
DanR's Avatar
DanR DanR is offline
SAOCA Treasurer
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Greenwood, sc
Posts: 3,009
Default

Just make sure you ask for the Lockheed Brake Servo and not a kit!!!!

Specify a Brake Servo (Lockheed). Repeat it several times... I did and still got a Kit.

Returned the "kit" and am still awaiting a refund .... BEFORE I ORDER AGAIN, With much emphasis on the LOCKHEED BRAKE SERVO.

DanR
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-17-2017
Ken Ellis's Avatar
Ken Ellis Ken Ellis is offline
Platinum Level Sponsor
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,666
Default

Curious, were you running without one before the install? If so, were you using an early Series master cylinder (or equivalent)? And further 'if so', did you change back to original size or stay with the status quo?

Inquiring minds want to know...
(25-30 year throwback phrase. )
__________________
Ken
SV B395013950 (OD) LRX
Weber 32/36 Pertronix
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-17-2017
DanR's Avatar
DanR DanR is offline
SAOCA Treasurer
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Greenwood, sc
Posts: 3,009
Default

Ken, I kinda like the throw back

I did change over to the early brake cylinder and removed the booster on my SV. Primarily because of the recommendation from various Forum guys.

While the brakes work. I'm just not happy as is.

Paul A made the Booster availability known, so I thought
I'd get me one.

By the way the p/n is 7-539 (Lockheed).






i
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-18-2017
PROCRAFT PROCRAFT is offline
Third Gear
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: INDIANA
Posts: 456
Default Booster

We've never used a booster two Tiger's two V8 Alpines the cars never had decent brakes Probably why we built the kits back in the stone age,
just mhop.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-18-2017
George Coleman's Avatar
George Coleman George Coleman is offline
Gold Level Sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 1,512
Default

I have used the early Alpine masters on my Tiger and Alpine and better brakes with the new master than when I had servos working! without the servo you have room for AC compressor!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-18-2017
65beam 65beam is offline
Gold Level Sponsor
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,270
Default servo

The only cars that I have used the booster on have been my 69 GT's. They use a Lockheed booster and only work on the front brakes. Stops real good. All of the other cars use the 700 master. I stopped at the fab shop this afternoon about welding up the clayton dewandre booster and making it non operational. It has a new kit installed but new kits are hard to find so the best bet is to eliminate a future problem before it happens.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright SAOCA 2017 Website powered by Subdreamer CMS & Designed by indiqo.media